Company & Industry Research

Several of our databases have industry reports that you can access through your Open Athens account. Reach out to the library if you need any assistance using or accessing these databases.

• Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports are available on ProQuest ABI/Inform. The industry reports include a SWOT analysis on the industry, industry forecasts, a risk/rewards index, a listing of the key players in the industry, profiles of a few major companies in the industry, and an analysis of market demographics.
• Nexis' homepage has a tab at the top of the page labeled “Market Insights”. This module of Nexis provides industry summaries, SWOT reports, and reports on the competitive landscape of many industries, including renewable energy.
• Statista database is another source with industry reports. The industries covered and how granular they go can be hit or miss but it's worth checking.
• The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) provides data on six key industries including energy, as well as subsectors of these industries. It has global and country level industry reports as well as country level industry data. EIU has data on industry sales and on market demographics, but unlike Fitch Solutions and Statista, does not have information about companies engaged in an industry.
• D&B Hoover’s, on the other hand, is useful for finding companies in a specific industry and ranking those companies by sales or size but does not provide much useful industry wide data. Commerce staff access Hoover’s through their own accounts, not through Open Athens. If you do not already have a Hoover’s account, you can request one at research@doc.gov.
• Search Publications in EBSCO's Business Source Complete for industry reports and news. Reports include MarketLine, Barnes, and more. Be aware, however, that the reports in EBSCO are usually quite dated.
• Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development's (OECD) online library includes data, eBooks, articles, working papers, reports, and statistics on several industries but, unlike Fitch Solutions, most reports are not released on a regular schedule and the information tends to be more dated.
• UN iLibrary, like the OECD library, has data and reports on renewable energy but with a greater focus on the developing world than the OECD.
• Lastly, the Bloomberg terminal is a great tool for industry reports and data as well as for research on companies. The BI (Bloomberg Intelligence) function provides key industry data, interactive charting, and written analysis by Bloomberg industry experts. Bloomberg also provides listings of companies within industry sectors and detailed financial information on individual companies . Access to Bloomberg is through a dedicated terminal so it is necessary to come to the library to use it. Please look at our guide for using the Bloomberg terminal. You should also look at our guide for doing industry research.