Commerce Research Library: International Trade Guide: Statutes, Treaties and Regulations

Commerce Research Library Resources

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline’s U.S. International Trade Library is a current and historical archive dedicated to all aspects of U.S. international trade. It brings together more than 3.2 million pages worth of content across more than 11,000 volumes, including the USITC Publications Archive, legislative histories, CFR & U.S. Code Title 15 and Title 19, notable publications, scholarly articles and much more.
Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
A Federal legislative history service that offers compilations of publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of US Public Laws from 1789 to the present. This includes legislative material on multilateral trade agreements such as USMCA and bilateral free trade agreements between the U.S. and other countries.
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Lexis includes content on legislation, case law and jurisprudence related to international trade for the U.S. With the recent addition of translated primary law from Global-Regulation Inc., cases, laws and/or regulations from 19 countries and the European Union are also available, including English-language machine translations and original-language source documents—with more coming soon.
CourtLink A detailed collection of federal and state court dockets and documents, including relevant briefs, pleadings, and motions.
Nexis Diligence Diligence enables you to conduct thorough due diligence on companies and individuals, going beyond credit scores and watch lists to develop a comprehensive due diligence report utilizing global news sources, sanction lists, company information, legal history, and public records.
Nexis Dossier Take advantage of a broad collection of company financials, industry analysis, hard-to-find contact data and more—from a single interface.
Nexis Gain unique insights from over 40,000 sources, including trusted up-to-date and archived news, company profiles, public records, industry information and social media content – all in one place.
WorldTradeLaw.net This link opens in a new window
A legal research tool for WTO Panel and Appellate Body Reports and WTO Arbitrations. Features include summary/analysis of new reports/arbitrations within 1-3 weeks after their circulation; summary/analysis of all past reports/arbitrations back to the establishment of the WTO; and a database of WTO dispute settlement tables and statistics.

U.S. Government and International Organizations

Free Trade Agreements
Site provides links to the full texts of all 14 free trade agreements that are currently in force between the U.S. and other countries.

BIS (Bureau of Industry and Security)
Website provides access to regulations and controls on U.S. exports.

WITS (World Integrated Trade Solution)
This software allows users to access and retrieve information on trade and tariffs. WITS provides access to the following databases:

UN Comtrade - Contains merchandise trade exports and imports by detailed commodity and partner country data. Values are recorded in U.S. dollars, along with a variety of quantity measures. The database includes information on more than 170 countries, and features statistics that have been reported to the United Nations since 1962. These statistics and data continue to be recorded according to internationally recognized trade and tariff classifications.
UNCTAD Trade Analysis Information System (TRAINS) - Contains information on tariffs and non-tariff measures for more than 160 countries.
WTO's Integrated Data Base (IDB) - Contains imports by commodity and partner countries and Most Favored Nation (MFN) applied and, where available, data on preferential tariffs at the most detailed commodity level of the national tariffs.
Global Preferential Trade Agreements Database - Provides information on preferential trade agreements (PTAs) around the world, including agreements that have not yet been notified to the World Trade Organization.

International Trade Guide

Commerce Research Library Resources

U.S. Government and International Organizations

Contact Info

Hours