Government & Legal Resources: Contract Law

This guide includes some of the best bets for contract law and government procurement research at our library. Most up-to-date treatises, journals, newsletters, and other resources can be found on Lexis or Westlaw.  Use the links below for direct access to these resources.

We have a small print collection that includes nutshells, hornbooks, and more on our Contract Law book list. Requests are welcome.

• Corbin on Contracts - A recognized authority with multi-volume encyclopedic coverage.
• Murray on Contacts - Concise 1-volume guide

• Government Contracts: Law, Administration and Procedure - This preeminent treatise encompasses all aspects of contracting with the government and includes forms for doing so.
• Federal Contract Management
• GAO Redbook - Also known as Principles of Federal Appropriations Law, published by the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO), is a multi-volume treatise concerning federal fiscal law. 

• Pratt's Government Contracting Law Report - Monthly report that covers federal government contracting developments, including relevant statutory and regulatory developments.
• Public Contract Law Journal - Scholarly journal published quarterly by the ABA, in cooperation with The George Washington University Law School.
• Legal News Hub - Law 360 Government Contracts

• Williston on Contacts - Recognized authority with multi-volume encyclopedic coverage.
• Modern Law of Contacts - Two volume practical guide.

Secondary Sources – Browse under Government Contracts

• Annotated Federal Acquisition Regulation Desk Reference - Contains annotations on the most important decisions issued by the Government Accountability Office, the Boards of Contract Appeals, the U.S. Court of Federal Claims, and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. It offers a quick look at relevant case law and gives a jumping-off point for more case-specific research.
• Government Contract Guidebook - Comprehensive, easy-to-use reference on government contracting, helpful to novices and seasoned professionals alike.
• Government Contract Bid Protests: A Practical and Procedural Guide
• Government Contract Costs & Pricing 
• Government Contracts under the Federal Acquisition Regulation 

• Nash & Cibinic - Monthly periodical that provides analysis of government contracts topics by Professor Ralph Nash and Vernon J. Edwards.
• Government Contractor - Weekly newsletter focusing on the legal developments in federal procurement including legislation, cases/decisions, and rules/regulations.
• Briefing Papers - Monthly journal of in-depth articles on topics in government contracting. Includes an annual procurement bibliography listing various articles published during the year.
• Procurement Lawyer - ABA quarterly newsletter on current developments in federal, state, and local government procurement.
• Public Contact Law Journal - Scholarly journal published quarterly by the ABA, in cooperation with The George Washington University Law School.